Renewed Faith in Younger Generation


It doesn’t happen often, but when I am pleasantly surprised, I try to tell someone.  I was not only surprised, but also pretty well impressed today!  Anyone who knows me can attest to the fact that is NOT an easy thing to do.  So without further ado, let us get on with it!

I went to Old Navy today because that store is very conveniently located next to another store I visited today.  Which I also happened to visit and which also pleasantly surprised me, but this story is about Old Navy.  I was shocked to find the store sparsely populated this close to Christmas, and got the undivided attention from the staff that I haven’t been used to for a log time.  After one clerk helped me find the only shirts I can stand to wear because of their extreme softness, I was lucky enough to find a few sweaters that were both not itchy and pretty nice looking.  So I found my way to the front checkout line.  My pleasant surprises continued when I saw all cash register lines occupied except for one which was recently vacated.  It just so happens that this clerk, although still in high school or maybe just into college, was not only attentive, but had the deductive reasoning I haven’t seen in people twice her age!

First, she asked if I’d like a gift receipt for any of my purchases.  When I told her no, she said, “Oh, so you found some stuff for yourself today!”  Ok, so that may not have taken a lot of deduction, but it was a start.  After we agreed on a small amount I agreed to donate to St. Jude, she asked me to verify my e-mail address for their mailing list.  I did, and the address is similar to my blog address.  She barely glanced at it and then asked me, “Do you write?”  Ok, again, that was not really a major stretch, but most people don’t even recognize the right meaning of the “write” synonym.  (Yes, I did that on purpose.)

When I replied that, yes, I do write, I half expected her to ask me what I rode.  (I get that more often than you know!)  She asked if I wrote novels, articles, stories, etc.  SCORE!  Score one for the attentiveness of someone from the Texting Generation who recognizes the almost lost art of writing. It seems so strange that something so small can have such an effect on me!  It’s the little things…

Leave a Reply

