Scratches Down My Back


I heard a song with the phrase “scratches down my back” and I got to thinking.  Not only is the image highly attractive in popular culture, both giving and receiving, but there have been several popular songs which use this visual in the not-too-distant past.  I thought I’d put a few of them together.  For the edification of myself and anyone who chooses to read this post, here are a few that I’ve found:

Perhaps the first song that comes to mind when “scratches down the back” is mentioned is Alanis Morisette’s “You Oughtta Know.”  I have to tip my hat to her for this one:  “Every time I scratch my nails down someone else’s back, I hope you feel it.”

This song is much newer and the one I heard on Pandora which made me start thinking these thoughts:  Buck Cherry, “Crazy Bitch.”  Why does this song appeal to me?  Probably because I’ve known a lot of crazy bitches in my life!  “Scratches all down my back to keep me right on…”

My search for other songs with this phrase turned up songs I’ve never heard before, but I wanted to throw one of them in:

Ash, “You Can’t Have It All.”  “Scratches down my back, when we’re making love…”

And there are many additional songs with this exact phrase, a close match, or the same idea.  Clearly, the act of scratching one’s nails down a lover’s back, or having a lover scratch his/her nails down one’s back, is something many people think/sing/write about.

Funny.  Suddenly my back itches!

Leave a Reply

