Communication: Good For The Soul


Good for about everything in life, actually.  I guess since I have a degree in communication, I put a bit more emphasis on it in life.  Makes sense that someone like me would value communication more than, say, an engineer or mathematician.

Even I, however, have a hard time getting my message across sometimes, especially when I feel uncertain how that will be received on the other end.  Sometimes, I come out and make a blatant comment that says what I’m thinking.  It’s a good thing I’m usually in the car blatantly telling off some idiot driver.  Other times, I’m a bit more nervous about saying something.  Like when I’m trying to get a message through to a colleague who’s just not getting it.  How do you diplomatically tell someone he/she is a moron?  And then, of course, there’s the big one: trying to talk to men.  Ugh.  That’s an animal in itself.  There comes a point, however, when it’s time to either say what you feel and accept the consequences, or walk away without saying anything.  That’s a crime in my opinion.

So I fall back on verse.  When I’m in a particularly talkative mood, or when there’s a complex message I want to send, I find it’s easier to get that across in a poem.  That’s still a bit of a mask because it gives me a bit of plausible deniability, but it’s a step in the right direction.  And then there’s music.  There’s a song out there for just about any mood, and most everyone can identify with music.

Such as a good song to hit the road with.  Maybe idiot drivers won’t upset me so much with this one:

 

 

Leave a Reply

