HURRICANE! Take Two….


Last Friday night we had a storm come through and cooled down the god-awful temperatures – close to 100 degrees – of the day.  I was all but dancing in the rain, went outside in the hurricane-strength winds and breathed in the cool rain.  I ran to my car to get something out of it, completely thrilled to get soak and wet in the 30 seconds it took to do so.  I love storms and thought it was the perfect way to start the weekend.

And then a lightning bolt took out the power grid for just about the entire city, including my place.  That’ll teach me to revel in Mother Nature’s fury.  I had plenty of my own over the next three days. With temperatures reaching 95 – 98 degrees EVERY DAY, the lack of power, air conditioning, or a fan was especially brutal to endure.  Being the stubborn person that I am, I slept in my own place Friday night with no A/C and no fan.  And an Ambien to knock me out.  After 3 hours, I woke up, hot as hell with no way to cool off.  Great way to start the weekend.

Thanks to the kind heart of a good friend, I was able to sleep in air conditioning over the next three days.  My poor cat, although I came by twice a day to make sure he had food and plenty of water, looked at me with “TRAITOR!” in his eyes every time I left.  Ah, well.  By the time I came home from work Monday, the power was back on and the place was nice and cool.  He tackled me with a solid shin-check when I came in the door.

And life goes on.

 

Leave a Reply

