Nevermore


I am your raven, your bird of black
You want me to fly, but I always come back

You want me happy and to always be free
But your heart is the ultimate prize to me

The sky is a Siren’s call I must heed
Since free flight is my eternal need

A safe perch to return is a luxury
Until now, a perpetually elusive dream

You’ve given me a place to land
When I get lost in stormy seas
When violent winds thwart my flight plans
And safety again seems out of my reach

Never will this raven be caged
Never will these storms be released
But you’ve provided a refuge for these tired wings
And it’s this safe haven where I choose to be

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

