Embracing Mark Twain’s Views


One of my hobbies is looking up humorous, pertinent or otherwise entertaining quotations from famous people in history.   It seems Mark Twain was almost as cynical as me and even less inhibited about voicing that cynicism.  Here are a few Twain quotes that stand out to me:

Be careful about reading health books. You may die of a misprint.

Or you may die by following medical advice today that changes tomorrow.  Has the debate about eggs been decided yet?  I’m still hazy whether eggs are good for me.  Do they have too much cholesterol?  Are they packed with protein?  Are the yolks bad to eat or do they contain half the protein of the entire egg?  http://www.livescience.com/39353-eggs-dont-deserve-bad-reputation.html

Honesty is the best policy – when there is money in it.

Unfortunately, I don’t know a good joke for this.  I’m honest and broke.  Maybe therein lies the irony.

I was gratified to be able to answer promptly. I said I don’t know.

I wish I would get this answer more often when I ask someone a question rather than trying to sift through the load of….garbage I usually get instead. 

Keep away from people who try to belittle your ambitions. Small people always do that, but the really great make you feel that you, too, can become great.

Unfortunately, there are far too few great people who try to make others feel they can be great as well.  Most people try to hog the spotlight and see any sign or hint of greatness as a threat.  That’s why I’m so grateful that I count among my friends a precious few “great” people.

Life does not consist mainly – or even largely – of facts and happenings. It consists mainly of the storm of thoughts that are forever blowing through one’s mind.

And, as they say, history is written by the victor.  I wonder how different our views would be if the downtrodden, plundered, enslaved and persecuted people in history had their side of the story on record.  Archaeology does the best it can to try to tell their untold stories.  I wonder what some poor sap is going to dig up from my life thousands of years from now and how they’ll wonder what on Earth I could have used it for.
And last but not least, a quote that should linger in every literate person’s brain and spur them into action:
The man who doesn’t read good books has no advantage over the man who can’t read them.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

